Meet 4 students who aren’t worried about landing a job

While some students are worried about their future, others remain optimistic about what life will be like after graduation. YourMississaugaBiz.com spoke to four Sheridan College marketing and advertising students at the Virox Future Forum to get their thoughts and find out where they’re headed next.

Matthew Norris, 31

Headed to University of Glamorgan, Wales, for Bachelor of Commerce

Received advanced standing for his new program.

Why he’s not worried: “I have got enough work experience behind me, and built up enough skills sets in college as well as what I’m planning to do in university that I feel I have a higher advantage of getting a job.”

Nicole Whitewood, 23

Why she’s not worried: Already works part-time at Sheridan’s career center doing social media, and works part-time off-campus at Oakville marketing startup and B2B consulting firm MI6 and already has a job lined up after graduation.

“Their [MI6] focus is actually growing,” she explained, “So with my passion for social media and content development I’m not worried at all.”

Eric Steward, 21

Headed to Lakehead University’s Orillia campus after graduation.

Why he’s not worried: “It’s out of our control so why bother wasting time?” Steward also cited opportunities like Randy Pilon’s Virox Future Forum helping students learn and set themselves apart.

Jason Dunphy, 22

Why he’s not worried: Has a lot of experience with different job-relevant student competitions like the Vanier Marketing Cup. “It really helps you narrow down what your unique selling point is and that’s how you get the job,” he said.

“I know that when I go out there I’m going to work hard, I’m going to do everything I can to make sure that I find the job that I’m looking for that I’m passionate about.”

